Latest News

The Stats Guide - Grand Prix de Belgique

16 January 2021

The sixth and final qualifier for the G1 Grand Prix d'Amérique (2700m) is the G2 International Prix de Belgique (2850m) which is an event for four- to eleven-year-olds excluding geldings. This final key preparation contest has seen multiple changes including increases and decreases in the distance as well as the title. Before 1979, it was named the Prix du Béarn.   

With only two weeks ahead to the big race itself, it can be hard to achieve the double of this G2 and the G1 Grand Prix d'Amérique. Since the turn of the century only one horse has been able to win both races in the same season - Bold Eagle in 2016. The four-time winner of the G1 Grand Prix d'AmériqueOurasi achieved both victories on three consecutive years from 1986 to 1988. “The lazy King” added a fourth Prix de Belgique in 1989.   

1985 was a unique renewal when there was a dead heat. That is the only time that has happened in the last fifty years. Minou du Dungeon and My Whirlwind shared victory, both aged seven.   

Sweden has found plenty of success in this highlight in the past few decades with multiple wins including Queen L in 1993 and 1994, Huxtable Hornline in 1997, Naglo who was promoted to first place in 2004, Maharajah in 2011 (who won the G1 Grand Prix d'Amérique in 2014) and Yarrah Boko in 2013 and 2014. Other international triumphs of the Prix de Belgique include Shan Rags for Norway in 1995 and Giuseppe Bi for Italy in 2009.  

The first three home in this G2 on Sunday will also gain automatic qualification in both the G1 Prix de France Speed Race (2100m) and the G1 Prix de Paris Marathon Race (4150m) where arguably the winner of this tend to perform better in the latter. Last year Jean-Michel Bazire trained and steered Belina Josselyn to the Belgique Marathon double. Twelve months ago, Belina Josselyn also recorded the best kilometre rating of 1'12"6 in the Prix de Belgique. Others to achieve the Belgique Marathon double are Bird Parker in 2018 as well as Maharajah in the 2011 season.   

Winners who progressed to the G1 Prix de France Speed race include Naglo in 2004 and Royal Dream in 2012.   

This race is such an important event and part of the big three G1’s in the next six weeks. We look at the figures behind the horses including course record, Black type history plus much more...


*Please note with these participants the International form lines may not be fully up-to-date and accurate