Latest News

Stats Guide: Prix de Cornulier

22 January 2022

The G1 Prix de Cornulier (2700m) is labelled as the most prestigious race in the mounted trotting division and dates back from 1931. The race is named after Gontran de Cornulier, founder of the SECF or as it is more commonly known the Société LeTROT. The race is run on the penultimate Sunday of January, a week before the G1 Grand Prix d'Amérique (2700m) and is a Group One Race for four-to-eleven-year-olds excluding geldings.  

Five horses have won the race three times: Souarus (1946, 47, 48), Gardon (1955, 56, 58), Bellino II (1973, 75, 76), Kaiser Trot (1981, 82, 84) and Jag de Bellouet (2004, 05, 06). Jockey Jean Mary holds the record with eight wins whilst trainer Joël Hallais has the same number, including the previously mentioned Kaiser Trot. 

Considered the world championship of mounted trotting with the best trotters lining up to a achieve the Prix du Cornulier / Grand Prix d'Amérique double is an extraordinary challenge. Only one week splitting the two Group One events, this feature race double has only been achieved by Bellino II, who was a three-time winner of the Prix de Cornulier completing the feat in both 1975 and 1976 along with fellow three-time Prix de Cornulier victor, Jag de Bellouet succeeding in 2005.  

This year’s renewal looks to be as competitive as ever with dual winner Bilibili amongst the current entries. He will be attempting to rewrite history as the first eleven-year-old to win the race. Other notable entries include last year’s winner Bahia Quesnot, G1 Prix de Normandie (3000m) victor Gladys des Plaines, and G1 Prix des Centaures (2200m) winner Flamme du Goutier

For more unique information regarding the G1 Prix de Cornulier (2700m), please click here for the Stat of the Week where the age of winners and recent jockey/driver trends are investigated.  

We analyse the statistics behind the participants. 

Please click here for a full version of the stats guide table.