Latest News

History of the Prix Rothschild

01 August 2020

Originally named and remains registered as the Prix d’Astarte, the Prix Rothschild was established in 1929 and with the introduction of the Pattern Race grading in 1971 the race was initially a Group Three. In 1982, it was promoted to Group Two level and continued to attract a high level of competition, receiving Group One status in 2004. Run over the straight mile at Deauville, the race is the only Group One contest in France over 1600m restricted to for fillies and mares three years old and above. By including three-year-olds, it offers one of the first opportunities of the season for the Classic generation to step into older company and remains a target for experienced race-mares. 

In 2008, the Prix d’Astarte was renamed Prix Rothschild to commemorate the death of Baron Guy de Rothschild, prolific racehorse breeder. The Rothschild family own and run Haras de Meautry near Deauville and achieved extensive success with their Thoroughbred breeding operation, including 1963 Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe winner Exbury who was subsequently retired to the stud. The first European Pattern race of the season is named in honour of the Arc winner - the Prix Exbury – and is run at St Cloud as a G3 contest in mid-March. Baron Guy de Rothschild chaired the Thoroughbred Breeders Union from 1975 to 1982 and son Edouard de Rothschild is the current President of France Galop, continuing the family legacy. 

The Prix Rothschild is one of the highlights and the first of the five Group One races of the Deauville summer season. This is a race that has enjoyed exciting renewals over the last twenty years with some of the greatest fillies and mares to grace the turf winning the race. Champion race-mare Goldikova dominated the contest from 2008 to 2011, giving jockey Olivier Peslier four of his five victories in the race. In recent years, international raiders have enjoyed success on the straight mile at Deauville with four victors in the last eight renewals including 2019 heroine Laurens

Picture: © APHR Laurens winning 2019 Prix Rothschild